The universe versus Alex Woods by Gavin Extence (Book review)

image

Salut mes amis !
It has been a long time since I have done a media review and what is better than to do a book review on the latest book that I have finished : The universe versus Alex Woods. Published in 2013 The Universe versus Alex Woods (TUVAW) was the debut novel by new author Gavin Extence and what a debut it was .

Blurb

“Alex Woods knows that he hasn’t had the most conventional start of life . He knows that growing up with a clairvoyant single mother won’t endear him to the local bullies.

He also knows that even the most improbable events can happen -he’s got the scars to prove it.

What he doesnt know yet is that when he meets ill-tempered, reclusive widower Mr Peterson , he’ll make an unlikely friend. Someone who tells him that you only get one shot at life . That you have to make the best possible choices .

So when aged seventeen , Alex is stopped at Dover customs with 113 grams of marijuana an urn full of ashes on the passenger seat, and an entire nation in uproar, he’s fairly sure he’s done the right thing . ”

Negative
The book in my opinion was very slow paced and I found it difficult to stick to the ever changing topics especially in the beginning when I was left confused with the change of time frame (present to past ) . However I eventually got into it as I was awaiting the answer to the mystery of why he was stopped st customs and what did Alex Woods actually do because most of the time I was made to believe that there was actually no plotline .
Positive
Despite everything written above , I did actually enjoy this book . I loved the underlying theme of Death and life which may I add was projected in a way that would touch the hardest of hearts . The character of Alex Woods was well created , his personality both intrigued me and annoyed the hell out of me .

Stars : 4/5 🌟🌟🌟🌟
Overall
I would definitely recommend TUVAW, the amount of research that the author did to get the character of Alex Woods was impeccable. The mind of Alex woods is something that I wouldn’t mind revisiting .

I hope that you enjoyed this quick review . 🙂

LaFortune xx

PS Have you read read TUVAW? Are your views the same as mine + What should I read next ?

Leave a Reply

