King Alexander The Great

Salut mes amis!

.Alexander Mcqueen. Founder of the astonishing self named label , yes you’ve guessed it ; Alexander Mcqueen. I have always been a fan of his work and the ongoing work of the label. Artistic , just damn artistic. This post is not going to be a long dedication to Mcqueen but to his and his teams artistic vision.

Let us start with SS09 named ‘Natural Distinction un-natural selection’ said to have been inspired by “Charles Darwin and ‘the origin of the species’ by evolution both in a conceptual and technical sense ” . This is very evident in the collection as animal and plant print are clearly shown. The natural fabric used creates interesting  textures that I believe worked perfectly with the theme of the collection .

Take a look :

Next we have SS10 name ‘Plato’s Atlantis ‘ which carries the same kind of theme that SS09 had but with a more futuristic twist to it . I absolutely love this collection and this may be why I own a set of photos from the catwalk show .

For you to understand the intensity of the collection I enclose a quote from the website :

“WHEN CHARLES DARWIN WROTE THE ORIGIN OF THE SPECIES, NO ONE COULD HAVE KNOWN THAT THE ICE CAP WOULD MELT, THAT THE WATERS WOULD RISE AND THAT LIFE ON EARTH WOULD HAVE TO EVOLVE IN ORDER TO LIVE BENEATH THE SEA ONCE MORE OR PERISH. WE CAME FROM WATER AND NOW, WITH THE HELP OF STEM CELL TECHNOLOGY AND CLONING, WE MUST GO BACK TO IT TO SURVIVE.
When the waters rise, humanity will go back to the place from whence it came.”

Ahh, I absolutely love the collection and I hope that you do too.

Thank you for reading 🙂

LaFortune xx

PS. What designer always makes you smile ?

3 thoughts on “King Alexander The Great

  1. I absolutely loved the work of Alexander McQueen (and always look at his work in V&A whenever I’m about). I suppose the designer that makes me smile at the moment is Jeremy Scott. I’m a Swedish Fashion blogger based in London. Would be awesome if you could check out my blog 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

