Looking back: 1990

Before you read this you might like to read previous Looking Back posts: 1920 , 1960 .

Salut mes amis!

I cannot believe that February is already over and we are already in the third month of 2015. This week as been the longest by far, emotions that I thought I left a few years ago are rushing back . Aah , that’s life for you . There are always downs with the ups however I kind of love it, I love the rush I get when I beat those negative forces in my life. Haha , I have been meaning to do another Looking back post as they are one of my favourite posts to write. History is never History as re-occurrences take place in this “modern” day world . That can go into Fashion or into politics the world seems to be repeating itself slowly no matter how people boldly say “We learn from our mistakes”. Off track again? I do humbly apologies .

1990

Trends: 

The beginning of the 90’s saw 80’s style slowly disappear. I do stress slowly.

  • Fluorescent clothing in blue, green, orange, pink and yellow
  • Hoop earnings
  • Plaid shirts
  • Oversized shirts, sweat shirts,sweaters,slouch socks worn over sweatpants or leggings , black or white lace trimmed bike shorts with baby doll dresses
  • Keds+ all stars were massive brands ( and are still are)

Middle 1990:

  • leotards worn as tops
  • Overalls,flannel shirts
  • Most teenage girls tried to coy the British band All Saints  style

Grunge:

  • tartan flannel shirts
  • stone washed blue jeans
  • dark colours e.g brown

Thank you for reading , I hope that you gained an insight into 190’s fashion. 🙂

LaFortune xx

Leave a Reply

